Flex Success Award - Diversity & Flexibility Alliance

The Alliance’s Flex Success® Award recognizes partners at Alliance member organizations who are successfully working reduced hours schedules, the most stigmatized form of flex. The Award acknowledges the crucial role clients play in making workplace flexibility a reality and honors attorney/client relationships that best exemplify how, with client support, attorneys can achieve greater work-life control and still have extraordinarily successful careers.

The Flex Success® Award is more than individual recognition of flex success, it’s also the acknowledgement of the successful relationship between a partner and a client supporting flexibility and advancing inclusive cultures.

We will be accepting nominations for the 2019 Flex Success Award from Wednesday, May 8, 2019 until Friday, June 7, 2019.  Please consider nominating yourself or a colleague for this year’s award!

Nominate Yourself or a Colleague


Flex Success Award Nomination Process

  1. Be a partner from an Alliance member organization at the time of nomination and award acceptance;
  2. Is currently working a reduced hours schedule, and has worked a reduced hours schedule for at least a year;
  3. Can identify a client who knows the attorney is working a reduced hours schedule and is crucial to the attorney’s success.

If selected, both the attorney and the client must be available to attend the Alliance’s Annual Conference in Washington, DC on Thursday, November 7, 2019 to receive their awards.

Here’s what past Flex Success® Honorees have said…
“As a corporate restructuring partner and a mother, workplace flexibility has been critical in allowing me to succeed and achieve my goals both inside and outside the office. Our mutual understanding [with client, Charles Baker of Ball Corporation] when it comes to balancing work and family responsibilities enhances our work relationship because we know and respect each other beyond the lawyer-client relationship.”
Felicia Gerber Perlman, Partner, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP, Chicago
“It is a tremendous honor to receive the Flex Success® Award with my client, Carol McDaniel of AXS TV, a client who has supported my flexible working arrangement for the past 14 years and valued my contributions, regardless of whether they found me working at the office, my home, or on the go with my children. AXS TV embodies the values and benefits of supporting teams and their agile working arrangements to create the best company culture and results.”  
Phyllis Wan, Partner, Hogan Lovells US LLP, Denver


More information on the nomination process as well as the nomination form can be found HERE.

Past Honorees

2018 Flex Success® Honorees


Lori Mihalich-Levin



Dr. Cindy Kelley

Vice President of Medical Education

Summa Health

Read more details in our press release here.


2017 Flex Success® Honorees

Felicia Gerber Perlman
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
Charles Baker
Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary
Ball Corporation

Phyllis Wan
Hogan Lovells US LLP
Carol McDaniel
Vice President of Administration & Operations

2016 Flex Success® Honorees

 Danielle Frappier
Partner & Co-Chair, Communications Practice Group
Davis Wright Tremaine LLP
Steven Fenker
Nexus Communications, Inc.

Jenna Mooney
Davis Wright Tremaine LLP
Joe Mattoon
Chief Legal Officer
CLEAResult Consulting Inc.

2015 Flex Success® Honorees

Toni-Ann Citera
Jones Day
Maria E. Pasquale
Senior Vice President, Legal & Deputy General Counsel
Celgene Corporation
Ailyn Abin
Senior Corporate Counsel
Celgene Corporation

Kelly S. Hughes
Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C.
Jill Lewandowski
Vice President, People
Carlisle & Gallagher Consulting Group

Joy Sturm
Hogan Lovells
Debbie Walters-Francique
Vice President & Assistant General Counsel
Pfizer Inc.
Sabrina Yohai
Assistant General Counsel
Pfizer Inc.

2014 Flex Success® Honorees

Victoria Lee
DLA Piper
Karen M. McGee
General Counsel & Privacy Officer
ID Analytics, Inc.

Julia E. Markley
Perkins Coie LLP
Laura E. Proctor
Associate General Counsel
Louisiana-Pacific Corporation

2013 Flex Success® Honorees

Eve N. Howard
Hogan Lovells
Susan Herlick
Senior Vice President, General Counsel & Secretary
Orbital Sciences Corporation

Marci Rose Levine
Janine Friede
Senior Associate General Counsel

2012 Flex Success® Honorees

Laura M. Barzilai
Sidley Austin LLP
Christine Griff
Director of Tax Planning

Elaine Herrmann Blais
Goodwin Procter LLP
David M. Stark
Vice President and General Counsel
Teva Pharmaceuticals USA


For more information about the Flex Success® Award, contact Eliza Musallam.